James Moran Talks “Tower Block” with The Movie Guide Blog

I’m pleased to say that we are joined by the writer of Tower Block, James Moran. We hope that you enjoy this Interview.

MG: First of all can you introduce yourself and tell us what was you’re involvement in Tower Block?
JM: I’m a writer for film and TV, I wrote Cockneys Vs Zombies, Severance, and now Tower Block. I also wrote episodes for Doctor Who, Torchwood, Primeval, Spooks, and others.

MG: Can you tell us about your previous experiences as a Producer, Writer and Director?
JM: I’ve spent several years working in TV and movies, after my first film Severance got made, I did lots of TV shows and had lots of fun doing those. They’re a great training ground to improve as a writer, you have to figure things out really fast and deliver solid work over and over. As for directing, I directed half of my web series Girl Number 9, a short film for FrightFest 2011 called H33, two short idents for FrightFest 2012, and am directing another short next month.

MG: Can you tell us about the projects that you’re currently working on and what we can look forward to?
JM: Apart from the short, which will film next month, I’m working on several other horror movies, as well as an action thriller, a science fiction movie, and a comedy. The next movie that will be filmed should be Silent Night of the Living Dead, a horror comedy set in a small town at Christmas. Apart from that, it all depends on what gets made first, really.

Now that we’ve got a background on James, we’re now going to talk about Tower Block!

MG: Where did the Idea come for Tower Block?
JM: I was watching another horror movie several years ago, also at FrightFest, and for a moment I was convinced that the killer was about to keep them trapped in the house they were trying to escape – I thought he was waiting outside with a sniper rifle. That didn’t happen, the movie went a different way, but I held on to that idea and thought it’d be a good setup for a movie.

MG: What is the plot of the Tower Block in your own words?
JM: The last remaining tenants on the top floor of a tower block are terrorised by a mysterious sniper in the building opposite – he won’t let them leave, and if they even look out of the window, he’ll shoot them. That’s the setup, and that’s all I like to say about it, it’s best to watch the film knowing as little as possible.

MG: Can you tell us the Crew who were on the movie and what where they like to be involved with?
JM: Ronnie and James were the co-directors, and right from the start we all had the same intentions for the movie. We all wanted it to be dark, gritty, brutal, and a relentless ride from start to finish. They were very inclusive, and I had as much access as I wanted, so I got to see a lot of it being made, and was there to offer suggestions and so on. It was a great crew, most of them came straight from Cockneys Vs Zombies, so I already knew they were great!

MG: How did the main cast come about and can you tell us about them?
JM: We just basically approached the people we wanted, and thankfully they all responded really well to the script and wanted to be involved. We were very fortunate to get all the cast we did, they’re fantastic at what they do, and really brought their A game to this movie. I find a lot of it hard to watch because their performances are so good, it feels like it’s really happening. It’s a tricky movie to get right, and even one bad performance could have broken the tension, but they all got what we were going for.

MG: Can you tell us a little about the production of the film and if there was one moment that made it that more special?
JM: We had the entire set built inside a massive studio by the docks, so the first day I arrived, I went into it and had a look around – it felt totally real all the way through, it was a fantastic set. When you see it brought to life in front of you, that’s when it starts to sink in that it’s really happening. The most exciting moment on every set is the first time I see the actors bringing the words to life, that first scene that I watch being shot is incredibly exciting and emotional for me.

MG: The Final Question is, Can we expect any more great projects from you?
JM: I hope so, I’ve been working on a lot of stuff in the background for a couple of years, and it’s now starting to pay off, with 2 movies coming out in quick succession, and hopefully many more to come. If these movies do well, then I’ll get to make more, so fingers crossed, and please go to see them and buy the DVDs when they come out…

I would like to Thank James for taking the Time out to talk to The Movie Guide Blog, Tower Block is Released Tommorow! 21st September!

Leave a Reply

