AcChat – Lony’e Perrine of Chemical Peel

Hello everyone and welcome to another AcChat, I’m pleased to say that we are joined by another chemical actress in the form of Lony’e Perrine who plays Deb in the horror/thriller.

MG: Hi There, Thanks for taking the Time to fill out this Q and A 
LP: Of course! 🙂

MG: First of All, can you tell us your name and who you play in Chemical Peel?
LP: My name is Lony’e Perrine and I play Deb.

MG: So how did it come to be that you would appear in Chemical Peel?
LP: Natalie Victoria and I performed in a play together a few years ago and became friends.  So, about a year or so later Natalie contacted me saying she was in this cool horror film and there was a role perfect for me.  I auditioned and got the part!

MG: Can you tell us how long you were on set as characters on the production of the film?
LP: We shot for approximately 3 months and I had about 4 – 5 days of filming if I can recall.

MG: Is there one part of the character that reminds you of yourself?
LP: Absolutely!  Well, Deb is strong, smart, a good friend, and a loving new mother who will do ANYTHING for her son and so am I! Momma bear is on the loose..hahaha! My son is now 2 years old, but I remember that feeling of being the brand new mom and trying to navigate life with my friends, especially those who are single.  They didn’t quite understand how life had changed for me…its no one’s fault its just you don’t understand being a mom until you become a mom.  So, I can completely understand Deb’s story as she wants to be there her friend’s big life event, but her son is her priority.

MG: Can you tell us about your schedule during the production and what moment really stood out for you?
LP: Well, most of the film was shot on the weekends for the 3 month period, which was great for me.  Hank scheduled rehearsals before shooting to work out blocking for the scenes, that way we were ready to rock come shoot day.  But, the moment that stood out the most for me was Deb’s “emotional” scene, which is the turning point of the film.  I don’t want to give the scene away, but I had been preparing for that scene for a while since it was my audition scene.  It is a tough one, but I will say it is every mom’s worst nightmare.

MG: What was it like to Work with the Cast and Crew on Set? 
LP: Everyone was so easy to work with…truly.  It was a BLAST being apart of this “girls fest”…I mean cast..lol.  Everyone was professional, fun, on their game, and very giving on set.  It was nice coming to a set where the cast was PREPARED and ready to work.  We instantly became a family and it really felt like we were “childhood friends.”  The crew was GREAT!  Drew and Turner worked their magic behind the camera. Erica was AWESOME on make up…especially when she had to do special effects makeup!  Tarkan was a great producer and got the job done and Dan (my fellow Delawarean) would pop on set from time to time to “listen” to his words. J We had so much fun on set and you start to forget  “wait..we are making a horror film”..lol.

MG: I’ve interviewed Hank Braxtan on the site already, but what was it like to work with a visionary and talented director? 
LP:  It was easy breezy working with Hank!  He is a very organized, driven, and yet laid back director.  Although Hank has a vision, he takes suggestions from him actors, and gives his actors the freedom to discover and do the work.  It was a true collaboration and a pleasure working with Hank.

MG: After you’re experiences on Chemical Peel, what is next for you?
LP: Many blessings and lots of fun things going on here!  Right after Chemical Peel I filmed the movie Layover (role of Veronica), starring Lauren Holly (Dumb & Dumber & All My Children)!  It premiers Friday, Oct 12 at 8:00 PM on the Lifetime Movie Network…check it out! I recently shot a national Red Lobster commercial that will be airing soon. I also just wrapped on an AWESOME USC graduate thesis film, Son Shine (role of Tasha).  Now, I am co producing (and acting) in the theatrical production and movement, Black Women: State of The Union, which is an exploration of the challenges and achievements of Black Women in contemporary America.  Our show is at the Skylight Theatre with previews starting Oct 20 and opening Oct 27 – Nov 18. To learn more about our production go to https://www.facebook.com/blackwomenstateoftheunion or http://www.katselastheatre.com. Lastly, I am working with a very talented writer, Anthony D’juan, on my own dramatic web series slated for next year! To learn more about my happenings check out www.lonyeperrine.com.

Thanks to  Lony’e for taking the time out to talk to us, Join us again soon for another AcChat.

Leave a Reply

