AcChat – Stephanie Greco of Chemical Peel

Hello everyone and to another AcChat here on The Movie Guide Blog. I’m am pleased to say that we’re joined again by Stephanie Greco who plays Jordin in Chemical Peel. Enjoy!

MG: Hi There, Thanks for taking the Time to fill out this Q and A. 
SG: Thanks for wanting to interview me again! 🙂

MG: First of All, can you tell us your name and who you play in Chemical Peel?
SG: My name is Stephanie Greco and I play Jordin.

MG: So how did it come to be that you would appear in Chemical Peel?
SG: I had worked with Arielle Brachfeld previously on a short and we had kept in touch. She told me that Hank was casting for his new film and she thought I’d be perfect for the role of Jordin. It’s a totally different character from what I am used to playing so I was a bit nervous.  But they had me in to read and I felt confident about my choices and I guess they worked because I got a callback and then booked the role!

MG: Can you tell us how long you were on set as characters on the production of the film?
SG: We shot over the course of three months. I was on set most of the shoot days. I really had a blast with this character! Because Jordin is so different from me it gave me a lot of flexibility and play room. I was able to do things and go places that I usually cannot as an actor. I was excited everyday I was on set because this character really gave me the opportunity to forget who I was and step into the shoes of someone completely different. Special thanks to our writer, Dan Sinclair, for creating such a cool character!

MG:  Is there one part of the character that reminds you of yourself?
SG: Although it may not seem it, I can be shy and timid at times. Jordin is a bit of an extreme but I can relate to the awkward feeling of being in a new place and meeting new people and not exactly knowing what to do. I think everyone has felt that at some point. Maybe we cover it up very well, but it’s there. That feeling that you have to “be” a certain way in order to fit in and be accepted.

MG: Can you tell us about your schedule during the production and what moment really stood out for you?
SG:What was great was that Hank tried to have rehearsals a day or two before our actual shoot day just to get an idea of blocking and address any questions we had in advance so that on the actual day of shooting we could just blast through it. This was great because we were able to come in knowing all the technical stuff and just focus on the character.

A moment that stood out to me? Hmmm… there are so many! I love the dinner table scene in the beginning because we are all so happy and unaware of what is going to happen. And for my character it was a moment of inclusion and a new experience as well. Oh and of course I cannot leave this out because I was traumatized! Arielle and I share a particular scene and I accidently punched her in the nose! I was so horrified and felt so bad! It took me a while to shake it off. Luckily she was not hurt badly, more shocked than anything else. However, Hank swears he is going to keep that take for the film and I just know I am going to cringe every time I see it!

MG: What was it like to Work with the Cast and Crew on Set? 
SG: It was great! The main characters in the film are all female so that was really fun. It was like a girl’s night every day on set! Except when we had to shoot the really dark stuff then it was like a girl’s night gone wrong, lol. All of my cast mates are so talented and so dedicated; I’m really lucky to have worked with each and every one of them. We had a great time and Hank kept things light for us as much as possible because the material can be pretty intense. Our crew was very small and super efficient. I really bonded with everyone and I was always excited when I knew I was going to be on set. Also, I cannot leave out our set cat Goober! I must admit that I am a total cat person and you would frequently see me running around set in my pink grandma pyjamas chasing after Hank’s cat! We bonded; we are best friends now, LOL.

MG: I’ve interviewed Hank Braxtan on the site already, but what was it like to work with a visionary and talented director?  
SG: Hank was great! I would be lucky to have the opportunity to work with him again. He definitely has a vision but is not opposed to suggestions from his actors. Also, he was always there when I had a question or concern about my character. A lot of times directors are so busy worrying about the framing and which lenses they want to use

and all the technical stuff which is very important, but sometimes they end up distancing themselves from the actors and Hank was not like that at all. I felt confident that if I ever needed anything Hank would be there. I felt “safe” on set and that I was free to create my character and would not be judged or dismissed but encouraged. And what more could you ask for as an actor.

MG: After you’re experiences on Chemical Peel, what is next for you? 
SG: I just finished shooting another horror film directed by Anthony C. Ferrante called Hansel & Gretel playing the role of Gretel. It is a reimagining of the classic Grimm’s fairy tale. It was a very physical role for me and I think I still have bruises and cuts from it! But it was a lot of fun and again, you just learn so much from every set and every film and discover more and more about yourself as an actor. It was a great experience and I met some really amazing people in the process! And the wonderful thing about living in LA is that you never know what tomorrow will bring. So hopefully we’ll be talking about another one of my films very, very soon 😉

Thanks for taking the time out to talk to us Stephanie, join us again soon for another AcChat soon.

Leave a Reply

