DireChat – Ted Payson of Edward Payson’s Sunday Night Slaughters

Hey readers of The Movie Guide Blog, welcome to another DireChat in the series. I’m pleased to be join by Ted Payson, director of Edward Payson’s Sunday Night Slaughters. Enjoy!

MG: Thanks for taking the time to do this Ted, I Really Appreciate it!
TP:The Pleasure is all mine. Glad to sit down with you.

MG: What inspired you to become a Director?
TP: I have always had a fascination with movies since a young age. My father was a huge horror fan and really passed it on to me. My fondest movie memory when I was young was when my brother and I snuck into my father’s office in the basement of his New England home and watched Night of The Living Dead on a small Black and White TV. I was about6 years old then. I became obesessed with horror. While kids my age were watching Disney films, I was watching Friday the 13th, Lepraucaun, Pumpkin Head. By middle school I was using the family camera to make my own films and in High School I took amazing courses with Pat Daly and Chris Hazel at Waltham High School in Waltham Massachusetts and they would open my eyes up to the possibility that a career could be made in filmmaking. From there I never looked back.

MG: Can you tell us about some of the other projects that you’ve worked on?
TP: I directed my first feature film, a serial killer film, Morbid: A Love story while a freshman in College. It was all done on one maxed out credit card I still owe money on until this day. It was a learning experience that would help me gain confidence to tackle larger projects. I went on to direct “Unsiged” a Rock Documentary in which I follewed the story of three rock and roll bands in the Los Angeles area for a year. The film had a lot of success in the festival circuit and will be on Hulu and Netflix shortly. Then I did The Cohasset Snuff Film, a found footage serial killer film about a student in high school who films himself plotting out and carrying out the murders of 3 classmates. I also just co-directed Fury: The Tales of Ronan Pierce, a Comic Book, action horror starring Kane Hodder to be released in January. My newest project is Sunday Night Slaughters, a twisted horror webseries.

Now we’ve got an insight into Ted, we’re now going to talk about Sunday Night Slaughters.

MG: Where did the Idea come for Edward Payson’s Sunday Night Slaughters?
TP:Over the past five years making films, I wrote a lot of scripts, some of which I thought were going to be features, others I just wrote as shorts but I never got around to shooting them for one reason or another. I went back and read a few of them and realized I had some good stuff, so I wrote a few more and decided to make a webseries out of them.

MG: What is the plot of Edward Payson’s Sunday Night Slaughters in your own words?
TP: Well all the episodes are different. There will be the same host but each episode is a new story with its own set of characters, everything from demonic children to werewolves to crazy Christians.

MG: Can you tell us the Crew who were on the movie and what where they like to work with on Edward Payson’s Sunday Night Slaughters?
TP:Well, I have worked with Maria Olsen before and have nothing but great things to say about her. She is dedicated to her craft and has really made a name for herself. Her and Angel Corbin have been great through this whole process so far. I can only expect great things when we actually start shooting.

MG: How did the main cast come about and can you tell us about them?
TP:Well we have a few people cast, but really haven’t casted all the main roles yet. Maria Olsen will be in a great sinister role as well as a few other horror people which I can’t really talk about yet because they are still in the works.

MG: One thing that I Love about Films is the music, can you tell us how it come to be on your film?
TP: We have a great composer Alexander Arntzen. He is young but so talented. He scored The Cohasset snuff Film and I have only heard amazing come out of this kid. He scored a few of my Friend Justin Zagri’s films and his work is just incredible.

MG: Thanks Ted, for taking the time out to talk to us
TP: Thank you so much. I had fun.

Leave a Reply

