AcChat – Maria Olsen of The Haunting of Whaley House

Hello everyone, welcome to another AcChat Interview here on the Movie Guide Blog. This week we are pleased to be joined by Maria Olsen who played Anna Whaley in The Haunting of Whaley House.

MG: First of All, can you tell us your name and who you play in The Haunting of Whaley House?
MO:My name is Maria Olsen, and I have the honour of playing the ghost of Anna Whaley in The Asylum’s The Haunting of Whaley House.

MG: So how did it come to be that you would appear in The Haunting of Whaley House?
MO: One day I received a message from our fearless leader, writer/director Jose Prendes, saying he had written a film and he had a great role for me in it.  As I love his work, and as I love working with The Asylum, I accepted the role on the spot, and have not, for one minute, regretted it!

MG: Can you tell us how long you were on set as characters?
MO: I believe I had five days of shooting Whaley House.  We shot at The Dorothy Bembridge House in Long Beach, and every day was an adventure as we got to know the beautiful old house – and its gorgeous gardens – and had the opportunity to shoot in the different rooms and outbuildings.  There are rumours that Bembridge House is also haunted and, although I didn’t see anything strange, I heard that at least one of the crew members did…

MG: Is there one part of the character that reminds you of yourself?
MO: Without giving too much away about the storyline, I believe that love motivates the character I play to do what she does.  I would also like to believe that I, too, am motivated by love in most of what I do.

MG:Can you tell us about your schedule during the production and what moment really stood out for you?
MO: My schedule was hectic, both before and during the shoot.  I had just wrapped another feature – Brandon Scullion’s Live-In Fear, which also stars Arielle Brachfeld from Whaley House by the way – and had driven 9 hours back to Los Angeles from Utah on Saturday and attended the Whaley House table-read on Sunday.  By mid-week, I was shooting in Long Beach and was on and off the shoot – my shoot days were not continuous – for the next 10 days. As for the stand-out moment, I think it was in the scene where I whispered in Arielle’s ear and decided – on the spot – to use what I like to think of as “the spider hand” to get her attention!

MG:What was it like to Work with the Cast and Crew on Set?
MO: I made friends on this set that I will have for life! The entire cast and crew were wonderful to work with – especially Arielle and the incredibly talented Stephanie Greco, our leading lady – and I can’t wait to make many more movies with them.

MG: After you’re experiences on The Haunting of Whaley House, what is next for you?
MO: I’ve shot numerous projects – including webseries, feature films, episodics and commercials – since I wrapped Whaley House in April, and they’re all now safely in post-production waiting to be unleashed upon the world.  My next horror movie that will be out is Vile, which will hit DVD/VOD markets worldwide on Sep 11th.   Along with my MOnsterworks66 producing partner, Angel Corbin, I’m also presently producing a horror-themed web-series, Edward Payson’s Sunday Night Slaughters.

Thanks to Maria for taking out the time to talk to us today!, join us again soon for another AcChat on The Movie Guide Blog!

Leave a Reply

