AcChat – Stephen Chambers of The Corridor

Hello everyone and welcome to another AcChat, This time we are joined by Stephen Chambers from The Corridor. Stephen plays the character, Tyler Crawley. Please enjoy!. MG: Hi There, Thanks for taking the Time to fill out this Q and A
SC: No problem.

MG: First of All, can you tell us your name and who you play in The Corridor?
SC: Stephen Chambers.  I play Tyler Crawley.

MG: So how did it come to be that you would appear in The Corridor?
SC: Simple.  I got a call to audition for this horror film, my agent thought I fit the bill and so I went in and the rest is history.

MG: Can you tell us how long you were on set as characters?
SC:Well, we had a week of rehearsals in Halifax and then filmed for 4 weeks after that. I think I was around everyday but I did like that the schedule wasn’t too nuts.  The days weren’t brutally long or anything.

MG: Is there one part of the character that reminds you of yourself?
SC: At the time, a lot of Tyler reminded me of myself.  I suppose I was a bit fragile and feeling outted anyway and that seemed to suit the character once his friends turn against him.

MG: Can you tell us about the production of the film and what moment really stood out for you?
SC: The production didn’t seem too bananas as I recall.  I did like that we were in the middle of snowy nowhere at a hotel that reminded me of the one from The Shining.  We were isolated which helped the characters.  We kinda shot in sequence which was nice so we got to build up the bonding and stuff before everything hit the fan.  A moment that stood out for me?  I suppose that first day, shooting the opening which had me walking up snowy roads.  It was a nice, silent chance for me to get to know the crew a bit and it was also a moment that made the fact that I was in this film a firm reality.  I wasn’t just thrown to the wolves.  It was tranquil which was great because I knew the tranquility would soon end and I certainly didn’t want to start on a heavy note.  It was a simple, dreamlike moment that I always remember quite well, walking in a winter wonderland.

MG: What was it like to work with the cast and crew on set?
SC: I loved the crew.  Very mellow.  I remember finding our DP, Christopher Ball, a wonderful guy.  He and his camera were in my face a lot but never did he infringe on my space.  He artfully kept close enough to somehow make me feel safe and secure but kept out of my way enough to keep the tension of the situation very real for me.  As far as the cast, I hadn’t known any of them at all but during rehearsal I got to hang out with them a fair bit and found them exactly as you see them in the film.  I felt close with yet removed from all of them which was both a reality in the film and in life.  But certainly, they were all great to work with and great guys.

MG: After you’re experiences on The Corridor , what is next for you?
SC: Therapy.  No, I’ve since done guest roles on TV and have appeared on stage in a few plays.  I’ve also teamed up with a few members of The Corridor on various projects which is always great.

Thanks to Stephen for joining us on AcChat, Join us again soon for another post in the series…

Leave a Reply

