AcChat – Greg Dow of Deadheads

Hello everyone and welcome to another AcChat on The Movie Guide Blog, This time we are joined by another Deadheads actor, Greg Dow who plays Gillman.MG : Hi There, Thanks for taking the Time to do this Interview.
CD: No problem, your welcome and thank you for the opportunity.

MG: First of All, can you tell us your name and who you play in Deadheads?
CD: Greg Dow and I played Gillman.

MG: So how did it come to be that you would appear in Deadheads?
CD: Well, I have been friends with and working with Brett and Drew Pierce for .. I think its been about 13 or so years now. When they said they were shooting Deadheads I hopped in my car and drove to Michigan from LA to help with whatever I could on the project. I was originally going to be an assistant to the great Steven Milosavleski and help with the art department in whatever way I could. And yes of course I was going to be auditioning as an actor for as much as I could, oh and the Pierce brothers knew it! After about 8 auditions they toldme I had the part, this is while I am moving lumber, metal tubes and building equipment just trying my best to help/keep up with Steve. I am sorry to say that I think my response was “Oh ok, um did you guys need the two boxes of gas masks in the garage or downstairs?”.

MG: Can you tell us how long you were on set as characters?
CD:  As the character I don’t really remember but as a “Little Cog” in the Fro Bro films empire I can say for as much as I could be.

MG: Is there one part of the character that reminds you of yourself?
CD:  The Beard and the “Smell” as Ben Webster so fondly loves to reminisce on!

MG: Can you tell us about the production of the film and what moment really stood out for you?
CD: -There was this one morning shoot, after Ben and I had a night of I think it was whiskey. So we both showed up a little, well lack of energy. So as Ben and I are sitting in the Genutek Van, Me trying to listen to my I-Pod to slow down the throbbing and Ben trying to get over the fowl mixed stench of rad suite and whiskey hate, Brett comes by and asks if I can “You know be you and get the crew’s motivation level up?” So I proceeded to do cartwheels up and down the street in my full costume, and I think I was singing. After that I get back in the van with a big shit eating grin on my face looked over at Ben and before I could even say a word he shoots me this bad as look and says “I know your trying to help, but not right now!” It was so stone cold that I couldn’t help but proceed to just start laughing like a crazed man, all with in my head so as not to anger such a great guy.

MG: What was it like to Work with the Cast and Crew on Set?
CD:  Everyone was just amazing, they all worked crazy hours and just did an out standing job. I had a great time and hope to with them all again, just as long as I can keep fooling them with my acting skills.

MG: After you’re experiences on Deadheads, what is next for you?
CD: Well I finished shooting a found footage film that was shot back in Michigan in an amazing abandoned high school, I got to work with my very good friends on a really good short called “Old Hat” with Writer/Director Rich Ferrando, Brett Pierce and the very talented Fox Valade. I got to work with Ben Webster again on “Ape$hit”, as well as became a zombie for the Fro Bro’s short “Smush”. Other then that on Sunday nights you can find me playing the Lotto to do some stand-up at Meltdown Comics on Sunset in Hollywood.

MG:  Thank you for taking the Time out to do this Q & A, I really do appreciate it: D
CD:  -Thank you for giving me the opportunity to ramble for a bit and thank you to the fans of Deadheads and hopefully soon to be fans, and sorry for the delay at the time of writing this I am being distracted by re-watching Plunkett & Macleane.

Thanks to Creg for taking the time to talk to us, Join us again soon for another AcChat!

One thought on “AcChat – Greg Dow of Deadheads

Leave a Reply

