AcChat – Eden Malyn of Deadheads

Hello everyone, welcome to the second AcChat of the Evening, and again we are joined by Deadhead’s actress, Eden Malyn who played emily..

MG: First of All, can you tell us your name and who you play in Deadheads?
EM: My name is Eden Malyn and I had the pleasure of playing Emily in Deadheads.

MG: So how did it come to be that you would appear in Deadheads?
EM: My sister used to live in the same apartment complex as Brett and Drew, and I had met them a couple of times. When I was graduating from theatre school she encouraged me to invite them to my showcase as they were up-and-coming filmmakers. Drew came! A few months later he was giving me a call and asking me if I was interested in auditioning for the project.

MG: Can you tell us how long you were on set as characters?
EM: It’s hard to say exactly how long, as we flew back and forth a couple of times. We were definitely there for weeks at a time- but it was so much fun I didn’t mind at all! Days that Natalie and I weren’t needed on set we would do things like bake zombie-brownies and bring them by to cheer everyone up.

MG: Is there one part of the character that reminds you of yourself?
EM: Emily is a definitely more nervous and neurotic than I am, but her boy-crazy side isn’t too far off the mark! I actually created the Thomas crush during my audition- I was trying to find a cute way to button my scene, and since he was referenced in the scene I decided to check him out. It was really fun that Brett and Drew liked the moment enough to write it into the script!

MG:  Can you tell us about the production of the film and what moment really stood out for you?
EM: There were a lot of amazing moments during production- those guys are really creative geniuses, including the production designer, Steven Milosavleski- he made these absolutely incredible sets out of clothes pins and paper clips it seemed. One time we were at the mansion that is Ellie’s house shooting that epic last scene and I accidentally sat on my glasses, breaking the arm off. The screw had disappeared and we didn’t have a back up pair. Greg Dow, who plays Gilman, immediately instructed me to find Steve (our on-set MacGyver). He rustled around in Zombie 1 for awhile, and ended up breaking a pair of McDinkle sunglasses that we didn’t need anymore and rigging my glasses with the screw. It was great.

MG:  What was it like to Work with the Cast and Crew on Set?
EM: I’ve had the luck to work on a handful of great projects since Deadheads, some with much larger budgets and some of them studio, network, etc, and I have to say that Deadheads was the most fun I’ve ever had on set. Everyone involved was so passionate about what we were doing, and truly believed in the project. There was this magic in the air that isn’t always the case on big Hollywood sets, and I think that sparkle comes across the screen. There’s something really special about Deadheads. I hope to make many, many more movies with Brett and Drew.

MG: After you’re experiences on Deadheads , what is next for you?
EM: I just shot a really funny little comedy series to promote the new Ford Escape directed by Ruben Fleischer, director of Zombieland and Gangster Squad, which should be coming out pretty soon. I’m also producing my very own pilot, called (N)O-K Cupid, about the mis-adventures of online dating! I’ll also be playing the lead role. I’m very excited about my very first producing venture- I have an absolutely crack team on board. We’re going to shoot in the fall and have everything ready to go to pitch for pilot season.

Thanks to Eden for joing us for another great AcChat, dont forget to check back with us for another great AcChat!…

One thought on “AcChat – Eden Malyn of Deadheads

Leave a Reply

